Don’t Panic Facebook is Not Sharing your Data

by June 29, 2016 0 comments

Privacy hoax about Facebook sharing user’s data is doing the rounds again on the social media. If you are seeing that privacy message on your friends’ timelines then don’t panic and do not share the post as Facebook has clarified that it’s a hoax.

The hoax appeared for the first time in 2012 and now it is being shared on the social media site again, with no changes to the content format at all.

The new message goes like this: “I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste.”

This message has been copy-pasted by many users, and shared on Facebook. It also requests people to share the same on their timeline. The ‘Privacy’ note claims that  it will ‘protect’ a user’s content from Facebook, which is now publicly traded company and will thus make all posts from a user public.

 

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.