Everything you Need to Know About Google Prompt to Enhance Account Security

by June 22, 2016 0 comments

Using two-step authentication process is crucial, but many might find it annoying by logging all the information. With the rise in the number of password hacks every other major service provider has moved to two-step authentication as the way to make insecure username and password system a bit safer.

Several tech giants including Google, Apple, Microsoft, and Facebook among others strongly advise the users for using two-step verification for additional security of their accounts.

Now, Google has introduced a new prompt feature to simplify its two-step verification process to make it easier for the account holders to sign-in for Android and iOS users.

While the new prompt feature in two-step verification is available to Android as well as iOS users, it has made it clear that iOS users need to install the Google Search app on their phone to use Google prompt. Android users will get the feature through Google Play Services update. Google has stated that the new feature will be rolled out gradually and may “potentially take longer than 3 days for feature visibility.

The Mountain View search engine giant said that users can still choose all the available three earlier options, a confirmation email, a confirmation SMS, or a security key, apart from the new prompt option from their My Account page. The options are accessible in the Google app by navigating to My Account > Sign-in & Security > Signing in to Google > 2-Step Verification. The company also said that the Help Centre page will be updated soon with detailed instructions. The Google prompt feature requires an active data connection.

Google is not the first to opt for notifications as a method of login verification as both Twitter and Facebook allow users to verify logins using notifications from their respective smartphone apps but Google’s one-tap confirm is much faster.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.