How to auto-delete Google history

by May 13, 2019 0 comments

Search giant Google has rolled out a feature that now allows users to configure how long Google can save data from all of the Google services you use such as maps, search and among everything you do online. In the online world we live in nowadays, unless you know what apps use your location, Google keeps a detailed record of location history and maintains a log of websites you visit in Chrome browser – called mainly as Google History.

While till now you had to manually delete this data, but, Google now wants to give you more power over your online data and has announced the auto-delete controls that allows you to either auto-deletes your location history or set a defined time limit for how long Google can save this information.

Here’s how these Google History controls work.

The company now allows you to choose among two options 3 or 18 months. Any data identified as older than this time limit will be automatically deleted from Google history.

  • Visit myaccount.google.com and log in if you haven’t already.
  • Select ‘Data and Personalisation’
  • Select ‘Web and App Activity’ and choose ‘Manage Activity’
  • Select ‘Choose to delete automatically’
  • Select either 18 months or three months.
  • As an online user too, I would recommend selecting three months as providing as little information as possible is probably the best for privacy.

The company also said that it will expand Google history controls to make them easier to find inside of its apps. But as of now, going through these above steps is the easiest way to manage your Google history.

These Google history controls are first arriving to Location History and Web/App Activity. The Google history controls will work on your Google Chrome web browsing history, notification history from Google’s Discover feature on Android, locations you searched for in Google Maps, apps you used and more.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.